Salt Lake County is the second largest government, after the State of Utah, in both population and tax revenue.  The Salt Lake County Mayor serves as the executive of the county with the responsibility of proposing budgets, executing programs, and running the day-to-day functions of the county.  Salt Lake County exists to manage programs such as tax collection, property valuation, county jail, district attorney, health department, and regional parks.  There is often temptation to expand county services into areas that go beyond the original intent of counties.  While some of these services may make sense for counties, we cannot keep expanding county government forever.  In short, we need a mayor who will ask, “Should we do it”, not “How can we expand county government”.

The Mayor of Salt Lake County, in addition to their countywide responsibilities, is also accountable for the city type services (roads, sidewalks, snowplows, planning and zoning) for unincorporated Salt Lake County (Magna, Kearns, Emigration Canyon, White City, Big and Little Cottonwood Canyons, etc), which are normally the responsibilities of local city governments.  These services have been migrating away from the jurisdiction of the county as we have seen cities incorporate (Cottonwood Heights, Millcreek, Taylorsville) recently and in the past several decades.

%d bloggers like this: